

Southern Plant Board

President: Phil Wilson, North Carolina (919) 707-3732 Vice President: Trevor Smith, Florida, (352) 395-4628 Secretary-Treasurer: Ansel Rankins, Louisiana, (225) 952-8100

Contact Address:

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Plant Industry Division
1060 Mail Service Center
Raleigh. NC 27699-1060

2019 Annual Meeting Nashville, Tennessee April 22-25, 2019

Resolution No. 2

Continuance of State Monitoring of Imported Fire Ant Quarantine Boundary in All States

The members of the Southern Plant Board comply with all Imported Fire Ant Quarantine Boundary regulations, including, reviewing and revising the quarantine each year based on the spread of the pest. Surveys are conducted yearly within five miles of the IFA quarantine line to monitor the spread of this pest. The Southern Plant Board appreciates the efforts USDA APHIS PPQ provides to states in support of this monitoring and making adjustments to the quarantine boundary.

WHEREAS Monitoring of Imported Fire Ant continues to be a necessity in preventing the spread of this pest in the United States.

WHEREAS the Southern Plant Board recognizes the importance of all states monitoring and making adjustments to the Imported Fire Ant Quarantine line as required by the spread of the pest. Additionally, all members realize the impacts of not collecting timely survey data may lead to a state being fully quarantined by USDA APHIS PPQ.

RESOLVED by the membership of the Southern Plant Board at its 2019 annual meeting in Nashville, TN on April 25, 2019, respectfully request that APHIS continue to require all states within the Imported Fire Ant Quarantine Boundary area conduct survey yearly and provide adjustments to the quarantine line as necessary to prevent the spread of Imported Fire Ant.

Distribution:

Osama El-Lissy, Deputy Administrator, USDA APHIS PPQ Paula Henstridge, Associate Deputy Administrator, USDA APHIS PPQ Melinda Sullivan, National IFA Policy Manager Ann Gibbs, National Plant Board President Regional Plant Board Presidents